Parish Profile: Snapshot

The Catholic communities of Camberwell, Balwyn & Deepdene

Our Lady of Good Counsel (OLGC) and All Hallows constitute one parish, established via an amalgamation in 2012.

Our Lady of Victories (OLV) Parish, Camberwell is our ‘partnered’ parish. This partnership took effect in 2016.

Across the two parishes, we comprise close to 3620 families or households who identify as Catholic (National Centre for Pastoral Research).  We worship at three churches – Our Lady of Victories Basilica in Camberwell, Our Lady of Good Counsel Church in Deepdene and All Hallows Church in Balwyn.

Our Parish Priest is Father Brendan Reed. Fr Trac Nguyen is our Assistant Priest. Both priests reside at the OLV Presbytery in Camberwell.

There is one administration for the two parishes. The Parish Office is located at 19 Brenbeal Street Balwyn.

We administer one Catholic Primary School (Our Lady of Good Counsel School, Deepdene). Our retirement village (Barnsbury Deepdene) is owned by the Parish of Deepdene & Balwyn and is managed by Villa Maria Catholic Homes.

Parish Vision Statements

At Our Lady of Victories, we describe our parish as:

An opening, caring place of people seeking to live in closer relationship with God, where everyone is welcome. (OLV Parish Vision Statement)

At Our Lady of Good Counsel & All Hallows, we describe our parish as a place where:

Each person witnesses Christ in their own way every day. (OLGC & Deepdene Parish Vision Statement)

Parish Missions

A framework of five key missions provides the scaffolding for our parishes’ staffing structures, resource allocations, pastoral programs and strategic priorities. Whilst the nomenclature of some missions differs slightly across the two parishes, the intent and focus of the missions unite both parish communities in achieving their vision and mission.

The five missions:

Education and Faith Formation
Liturgical and Spiritual Life
Outreach and Partnerships
Community Engagement

Our parishes are part of the Catholic Archdiocese of Melbourne, which covers the greater metropolitan area of Victoria and comprises over 200 parishes. Our Diocesan Bishop, since 2018, is Archbishop Peter A Comensoli.